of Dundas
Tarot Cards
Tarot cards have had a place in human society for a long time, at least five hundred years and probably a lot longer than that. Their beginning is obscure and unknown. The Tarot cards represent the obstacles and growths that each person must endure along the path of life. Reaching the end of a cycle is not the end but a return to the beginning, to be repeated with new obstacles and new challenges.

Tarot decks are normally divided into two sections, the major arcana and the minor arcana. The major arcana represent stages and major influences on each stage of your journey. The minor arcana represent the separate facets of each stage. They are aids to understanding what is occurring or why something has occurred.

The sixth card in the Major arcana is "The Hierophant", in some tarot decks this may be "The Pope". The Hierophant is an indication of the beginning of looking at life's philosophical questions. It is the forming of a spiritual path and a personal spiritual belief system. I can also be a symbol of someone entering your life that will be a spiritual guide or mentor. If it's reversed it can be a warning of eccentricity or rebellion. It can also represent a desire for freedom.

The seventh card in the Major arcana is "The Lovers". The Lovers card represents love and sexual attraction. It means putting your values to the test. If it's reversed it can be a warning of infidelity or troubled times between partners. It can also represent love triangles, between people or career choices or other creative venues. If you are in a new relationship it can be a warning about how appropriate this relationship is for you.

The Hierophant

The Lovers

The crystal shown is Carnelian. Carnelian belongs to the Chalcedony, a form of quartz. The colour is normally translucent or clear and it can range from orange to a dark brown. Carnelian is an excellent stone for grounding and for fertility. It is also good for getting motivated and for being able to concentrate. It can be used to bring prosperity and can strengthen your creative nature. It has also been known to diminish unwanted emotions like jealousy, envy and shyness. It is a great stone to use if you need to feel sure of who you are and it allows you to externalize hopes, dreams and desires. It can give you the courage and strength to continue on your path in life.

Carnelian can be held in your hand during mediation or it can be worn as a pendant.


The next crystal is Blue Lace Agate. As the name suggests it is a member of the agate family. It is a pale whitish blue with darker blue layers of quartz through it. It is an excellent stone for achieving physical and/or emotional balance. It is also useful for building healthy energy patterns when we are so used to abusing our bodies. Specifically Blue Lace Agate is best used for reducing stubbornness and emotions born of anger.

Blue Lace Agates should be used as other stones. It can be held in meditation or it can be worn in jewelry. Personally I find it helpful when I do deep breathing exercises before meditation or when I encounter stressful situations.

Blue Lace Agate

Auras and Chakras


The aura is the energy field that surrounds the body. We all have one. In fact every living thing has an aura. With practice you can see it around others, around animal and even around plants. If you look to hard you will never see it. It's something just on the edge of sight, something you would see while looking past someone. There is a small space between the skin and the actual start of the aura. Then you will find a small hazy line before you get to the ground colour of the aura. The ground colour tells you where you are in your life and where your path is best suited. After the ground colour come the colour(s) that you radiate. Ever wonder why, even if you don't like them, children and pets always seem to surround you when you go places. It can very well be the colour(s) you radiate attract them.

As an exercise to feel your aura you can try the following:

  • Rub your hands together.
  • Spread your hands apart, about shoulder width, palms facing each other.
  • Slowly bring your hands together.

    Do you feel the pressure building between your hands? With practice and without forcing your hands together you can get the feel of your aura.

    Another quick exercise that you can do is:

  • Hold your index fingers about an inch apart.
  • See the space between them.

    If you keep your fingers in view but look past them, with practice you can begin to see a shimmering force between your fingers. This is one of the easiest steps to take to begin seeing auras.

    Remember the more you practice the easier it will become to see the shimmering forces and to feel the force that surrounds you. Play with these sensations. They are healthy and they are an integral part of who you are.

  • Hints to ease your path into meditation

    Using colour is also helpful in meditation. There are other colours that are useful in meditation. You can use pink, white, gold, silver and rainbow. Like the previous colours these can change how you feel. They can help to strengthen the body.

    Pink - Helps to promote a love of self and the ability to love openly and freely again especially after a hurt.

    White - Helps to promote a sense of wholeness and purity. It can also be used as a shield before you enter emotionally fraught situations. You can imagine it surrounding you and protecting you.

    Gold - Helps to express and manifest your spirituality. Meditate on gold when you wish to be able to express your beliefs in there truest and fullest nature.

    Silver - Helps you to find your inner self, your intuition and examine your dreams and fears. This is a meditation for the subconscious and the items you may fear to examine too closely. This will provide a gentle form of exploration to understand yourself.

    Rainbow - Use the rainbow of colours to understand your full potential.

    Meditation Thought for the Month

    "Divine Mother, with the language of my soul I demand realization of Thy presence. Thou art the essence of everything. Make me see Thee in every fiber of my being, in every wisp of thought. Awaken my heart!"

    By Paramahansa Yogananda, "Metaphysical Meditations"