of Dundas
Tarot Cards
Tarot cards have had a place in human society for a long time, at least five hundred years and probably a lot longer than that. Their beginning is obscure and unknown. The Tarot cards represent the obstacles and growths that each person must endure along the path of life. Reaching the end of a cycle is not the end but a return to the beginning, to be repeated with new obstacles and new challenges.

Tarot decks are normally divided into two sections, the major arcana and the minor arcana. The major arcana represent stages and major influences on each stage of your journey. The minor arcana represent the separate facets of each stage. They are aids to understanding what is occurring or why something has occurred.

The fifth card in the Major arcana is the "High Priestess". The High Priestess represents the beginning or raising the intuitiveness of ones consciousness. It can also indicate an encounter with the hidden world around us. This is especially possible if you are already aware of or interested in the esoteric world or the occult. This can be a time of confusion and even denial as this can bring a "strange" dimension to you life. This is the six sense and an awakening to the real purpose of your life on this plane. If reversed it can warn of hidden agendas and enemies and superficial people.

The High Priestess
The crystal shown is Tiger Eye. Tiger eye is a form of quartz and it can vary in colour from very light brown, almost a gold colour to very dark brown with fibrous inclusions that create the illusion of a shimmering centre. Tiger eye is a very good stone for becoming grounded and for centering your energy. It is a good stone to carry if you need more confidence to reach your goals and it will help to clarify the situations around you. It can also help you to draw needed people and materials.

The next crystal shown is Blue Lace Agate. Agates are a member of the Chalcedony family and the appearance is of a soft, waxy colour with bands of quartz running through it. Blue Lace Agates are a very soft blue with darker bands of blue quartz. Blue Lace Agate is an excellent stone for neutralizing stubbornness and finding an emotional balance. It is associated with the speech chakra and should be held when speaking to allow for an easy conversation. It will enable you to express yourself fully.

Auras and Chakras
In earlier news-letters we've mentioned chakras. As an quick statement; an aura is the energy field that surrounds a person and chakras are the energy centres found in the body. Everyone has an aura and everyone has seven major chakra centres. Auras exist in an area up to 24 inches around the body while the chakras are internal energy centres that reside over seven areas of the body.


Have you ever gotten on to a crowded elevator and felt uncomfortable because people are too close? That space is occupied by the aura and it can be one of the reasons that you immediately like or dislike someone. Some authorities say that the aura contains 7 layers, others say 7 layers within 7 layers. Overall the aura can tell you about yourself, your health and how you deal with people and how they deal with you. Anyone can see auras, all it takes is practice. Auras can vary in colour from red to blue to violet to white.


Chakras are energy centres that occur in every body. There are seven major chakras and numerous minor chakras. The colours of the chakras correspond to the colours of the rainbow; there is red, orange, yellow, green, blue,indigo and violet.

Hints to ease your path into meditation

Using colour is also helpful in meditation. All colours have meanings and qualities that can influence your emotions and well-being. You can use the colours of the rainbow to choose your colours. Notice that the colours in the chakras match those of the rainbow and in turn can be used to balance the body's energies. When you meditate on a colour, you should picture the colour as strong and vibrant as you can.

Meditate on the colour RED - for the energy, strength and passion to accomplish a task.

Meditate on the colour ORANGE - for vitality, bringing enjoyment into your life.

Meditate on the colour YELLOW - for mental clarity and creative inspiration.

Meditate on the colour GREEN - for renewal of body and mind.

Meditate on the colour BLUE - for relaxation and to release stress.

Meditate on the colour INDIGO - for renewal of your spiritual self.

Meditate on the colour VIOLET - for renewal of shared and universal unity.

Meditation Thought for the Month

Bless me, that I may find Thee in the temple of each thought and activity. Finding Thee within, I shall find Thee without, in all people and all conditions.

By Paramahansa Yogananda, "Metaphysical Meditations"