of Dundas
Tarot Cards
The idea of wanting or needing to know the future is part of the human experience. Tarot cards have had a place in human society for a long time, at least five hundred years and probably a lot longer than that. Their beginning is obscure and unknown. We all want to know what is coming, how to prepare or how to prevent the inevitable. The Tarot cards represent the obstacles and growths that each person must endure along the path of life. Reaching the end of a cycle is not the end but a return to the beginning, to be repeated with new obstacles and new challenges. Tarot decks are normally divided into two sections, the major arcana and the minor arcana. The major arcana represent stages and major influences on each stage of your journey. The minor arcana represent the separate facets of each stage. They are aids to understanding what is occurring or why something has occurred.

The eighteenth card in the Major arcana is "The Star". The Star card is a symbol of hope and faith in the middle of life's difficultly. However it can not be a blind hope. All hope and faith must be accompanied by actions that build and support them. This is a card of promise; you can rebuild faith and hope but you have to be an integral part of that rebuilding. Sitting and hiding does nothing but aid in building a dream. This card also represents a need for rest from the trials of life. If reversed it symbolizes negative thoughts and a longing for unreachable goals and ambitions. This does not mean that you can never reach that goal but just not at this particular time.

The nineteenth card in the Major arcana is "The Moon". The Moon card augurs a time of confusion, uncertainty and change. These are things that we have no control over. They will leave us disorganized and clinging to dreams and hopes. This is a time to learn "to go with the flow". Realize that there are some things that we can not control and we shouldn't try. Change and confusion are major up-heavals in life and learning that we are but tiny bits of a whole can help to put things into perspective. It can also indicate depression due to stifled imagination. If reversed it can mean that plans and ideas should be put on the shelf for a time. It is also a warning that things may not be as they seem to be, ensure you read the small print.

The Star

The Moon


Desert Rose

The first crystal is Desert Rose. Desert Rose is also known as Gypsum. Desert Rose has been called the "Lucky Stone" and is said to bring good fortune. Desert Rose is used to calm and sustain one's self when the events of life are happening too quickly.


The next stone is Labradorite. Labradorite is also known as Spectrolite. Labradorite is used in ceremony. It can raise the consciousness and can enhance psychic ability. It has also been used to assist in regeneration and protection. Most it is used in meditation for communication with the divine and in connecting to the energies of the universe.


Auras and Chakras
Chakra Pendants

Using Pendants to check on the health and size of chakra areas is an easy exercise that will get you accustomed to using pendants and understanding the chakra centres. Pendants usually consist of crystals that match the colours of the chakras from the heart up to the head; purple(amethyst), pink(rose quartz), blue(sodalite, lapis lazuli). The crystals can be wrapped in wire, like the picture, and then suspended by a thin leather strip.

To use a pendant to check the chakras, it is much easier to do it on a friend. Have the other person lay on a comfortable surface. Hold the pendant firmly but not tightly and centre it over the lowest chakra. Allow the pendant to begin to move on it's own. In women the base chakra energy and pendant will travel in a counter-clockwise direction; in men the travel will be clockwise. Each chakra will alternate in direction; counter-clockwise/clockwise/counter-clockwise and so on. Proceed up the body and ensure that all the chakras circle at the same size. If a chakra is out of size, stop the pendant and concentrate on changing the size of the chakra centre. Allow the pendant to start to move over the chakra again and either hold the pattern in to the proper size or help it to move outward to balance with the other chakras. Have the person rest and get up slowly.

Changing Your Life with Meditation

Meditation is a start to changing your life. Meditation allows you to become more aware of your daily life. With it you can examine your needs, abilities and your goals; it allows you to follow a life path or goal. You can look at your life path and goals as different stages of life. Some plans are just starting to develop, some are starting to bud and others are in full bloom. They radiate your inner self and allow you to judge what you should work on next or what may need more time to develop.

Be aware of the sabotage you can do to your own thought processes. Unhealthy thought patterns can wreck the best progress. Thought is energy and if you think negative thoughts, this negative energy will interfere with your progress. Negative energy creates stubborn patterns however by following the trend of your thoughts you can learn to counteract those patterns and break the mold you have unknowingly build.

Meditation Thought for the Month

"This day I will break the boundaries of self-love and of family loves and make my heart big enough for all God's children. I will kindle a fire of universal love, beholding my Heavenly Father dwelling in the temple of all natural ties. All desire for affection I will purify and satisfy in attaining the sacred love of God."

By Paramahansa Yogananda, "Metaphysical Meditations"